Enhanced Pultec DIY

This section is for registered users to discussspecific projects and troubleshooting.

Moderator: kubi

Postby Maarten » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:22 pm

This escape is an option I also thought about, good call. But I doubt if this will work for the log pots for the bass, maybe I’ll use a linear taper for that as well.

Someone mentioned that the circuit is in fact a simple voltage divider. Changing the divider would change the dB range. So I still have hopes for an easy solution. If all else fails, then I will use stepped switched, but that will require a lot more time to build. Or… just roughly build one channel and start experimenting and see how the parts interact with each other.

The unit will be used on the 2bus during mastering. 3dB range is really the max I need for that, maybe even less, like 2dB. I hardly boost/cut anything more then that. Good control over 0-1dB is the priority. If the song needs more then 3dB, then an addition EQ will do the trick.

Thanx for your input!
Maarten
Maarten
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:28 pm

Postby benlindell » Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:06 am

I got my first channel fired up tonight with my stepped switches.

I'm getting some boost both Lows and High, but I have a whole host of problems. When I turn them all the way down I get no signal, which looks almost like what's supposed to happen the signal has a straight path to ground. Did I screw something up by using stepped switches instead of pots? A whole bunch of other problems like the bass boost frequency not moving, both boosts adding more gain to the entire signal than just their frequency, the bypass is off by +6db.... Gonna take this one step at a time.
benlindell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: NYC

Postby benlindell » Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:15 am

I'm comparing the V1 and V1.5 Wiring and Components Diagrams and there a ton of differences:

the extra two 1K or 10K resistors near the filter output
the the 0mh connection goes to a different leg of the HF boost
the HF bandwidth connects the opposite leg to the High freq Selector pad A.

Is the V1.4 board and V1.5 Wiring guide working for anyone using pots?

I feel like these changes would make the filter circuit way way different between the 2 versions.
benlindell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: NYC

Postby benlindell » Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:52 pm

I can confirm that filterboard V1.4 that gustav sold do not work as is. Briomusic over at GroupDIY posted a great diagram for the offboard wiring needed to make these work, they only took me 15 minutes to do.

http://www.prodigy-pro.com/diy/index.ph ... #msg517365
benlindell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: NYC

gustavs 1.4 version hookup

Postby seavote » Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:38 am

i did not go back to the prodigy pro thread just now but if i recall correctly
the members who found their projects hook up faulty, were using gyrafs tube circuit for their gainstage. i was under the impression( maybe incorrectly,thats why im posting here) that the boards worked fine with franks solid state gain stage. do you know if this is true?
seavote
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:34 pm

Postby nrgrecording » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:09 am

Hi.

I just made a pcb design with the changes:

http://www.nrgrecording.de/temporary/Enhanced%20Pultec%20V1.6.pdf

Haven't tested this version yet. Regarding the other (original) pcb layout I got different infos - some say it works, the others say it doesn't work. I also added fixed inductors to the pcb layout so you can choose between 3 different inductors.
Iam pretty sure that the filterboards works with the gyraf SRPP gainstage - at least if the filterboard works with the opamp gainstage it should work with the tube gainstage, too.

Frank.
Frank Röllen. www.energyrecording.de [FORUM · DIY WEBSITE · TONSTUDIO]°°°° www.frontpanels.de [cnc gefertigte Frontplatten]°°°°
nrgrecording
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 1:17 pm
Location: Viersen (bei Mönchengladbach)

Postby sangeet » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:57 am

cool, thanks a lot Frank

did somebody try this new 1.6 Version already?
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

Postby sangeet » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:27 am

nrgrecording wrote:Ich hab mir neulich was bei dem hier ätzen lassen...
http://www.platinenbelichter.de/
Für 8,50€/pro 160x100mm Platine gehe ich nicht mehr in die Werkstatt und fange an zu ätzen.


Den wollte ich auch beauftragen, der will bestimmt wieder die Masse der Platine wissen....Somebody can tell me the size of the boards?
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

Postby nrgrecording » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:32 am

160x100mm (wie immer)
Frank Röllen. www.energyrecording.de [FORUM · DIY WEBSITE · TONSTUDIO]°°°° www.frontpanels.de [cnc gefertigte Frontplatten]°°°°
nrgrecording
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 1:17 pm
Location: Viersen (bei Mönchengladbach)

Postby sangeet » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:51 am

Thanks :)
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

Postby sangeet » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:59 am

nrgrecording wrote:160x100mm (wie immer)

Ah, aber was ist mit dem Gainboard, das wirkt auf mich kleiner.
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

Postby [silent:arts] » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:59 am

nrgrecording wrote:160x100mm (wie immer)

Spieser :lol: :lol: :lol:
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby sangeet » Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:28 pm

nrgrecording wrote:Hi.

I just made a pcb design with the changes:

http://www.nrgrecording.de/temporary/Enhanced%20Pultec%20V1.6.pdf

Haven't tested this version yet. Regarding the other (original) pcb layout I got different infos - some say it works, the others say it doesn't work. I also added fixed inductors to the pcb layout so you can choose between 3 different inductors.
Iam pretty sure that the filterboards works with the gyraf SRPP gainstage - at least if the filterboard works with the opamp gainstage it should work with the tube gainstage, too.

Frank.

This 1.6 version gives me the following mistakes:
In active mode I have a loss of 6 dB.
Low boost only around 9 dB.
I will investigate and compare with the other version, I hope that I can report back here soon.
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

Postby ivan » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:03 pm

I have a similar problem on 1.6 version.
Low boost is small, low cut is oversize and i have also loss in active mode.
ivan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:31 am

Postby sangeet » Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:11 am

I tried a few modifications but no luck so far :-(
sangeet
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:36 am
Location: Berlin

PreviousNext

Return to DIY Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron